Category Archives: Award Shows

Everything You Need to Know About the VMAS!!

First things first I got everything you need to know.

The 2019 MTV VMAs will be held at the Prudential Center in Jersey. The highly anticipated award show air across in more than 180 countries, reaching more than half a billion households around the world.

Taylor Swift announced she will be opening the 2019 MTV VMAs. Since 2008, Taylor has won 7 VMAs overall, including 3 Best Female Video awards (“You Belong with Me,” “I Knew You Were Trouble,” “Blank Space”), 2 Best Collaboration awards (“Bad Blood,” “I Don’t Wanna Live Forever”), and 1 Video of the Year award (“Bad Blood”).

The VMA’s will be hosted by Sebastian Maniscalco, the comedian, actor and best-selling author.

Music icon Missy Elliott will receive the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award at the 2019 VMAs.

In celebration of Missy Elliott’s career, MTV in collaboration with PEPSI® will host a pop-up museum event in New York City on August 24-25th.

Missy Elliott’s performance will represent the first time she is returning to the VMAs stage for the first time since 2003.

Stars from “The Sopranos” will reunite to present at 2019 MTV VMAs. The stars include Drea De Matteo, Jamie-Lynn Sigler, and Vincent Pastore.

Other presenters include Alex Morgan, Ali Krieger & Ashlyn Harris (US Women’s National Soccer Team), Ice-T, John Travolta, Jonathan Van Ness (Queer Eye), Rick Ross, Salt-N-Pepa and more.

From Wednesday, August 21st at 12 p.m. ET until Sunday, August 25th at 12 p.m. ET, fans can vote for the Song of Summer, presented by Samsung, in bracket-style voting. Fans can vote by swiping up on MTV’s IG Story. Nominees include:

  • Ariana Grande & Social House – “boyfriend”
  • Billie Eilish – “bad guy”
  • DaBaby – “Suge”
  • Ed Sheeran & Justin Bieber – “I Don’t Care”
  • Jonas Brothers – “Sucker”
  • Khalid – “Talk”
  • Lil Nas X ft. Billy Ray Cyrus – “Old Town Road (Remix)”
  • Lil Tecca – “Ransom”
  • Lizzo – “Truth Hurts”
  • Miley Cyrus- “Mother’s Daughter”
  • Post Malone ft. Young Thug – “Goodbyes”
  • ROSALÍA & J Balvin ft. El Guincho – “Con Altura”
  • Shawn Mendes & Camila Cabello – “Señorita”
  • Taylor Swift – “You Need To Calm Down”
  • The Chainsmokers & Bebe Rexha – “Call You Mine”
  • Young Thug ft. J. Cole & Travis Scott – “The London”

Official sponsors of the 2019 “MTV Video Music Awards” include Extra® Refreshers Gum, PEPSI®, Taco Bell®, the 2020 Toyota Corolla and truth®.